Members of the Committee

The Camden Expedition Scenic By-Way Steering Committee formed late in 2015 as the Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial concluded. The goal of the committee was to find a way in which the numerous battlefields, fortifications, buildings and other sites associated with the 1864 Camden Expedition could be marketed together to create a heritage tourism destination that would benefit economic development in southwest Arkansas.

The Steering Committee gradually formed with representatives from ten counties. The representatives who served in the recent past and those who are continuing to serve are:
Pulaski County
Mark Christ, Arkansas Historic Preservation Program
Saline County
Patsy Kirkpatrick Kuhn, Bryant Historical Society
Kathy Sullivan Lewallen, Bryant Historical Society
Steven Perdue, Vice-President, Saline County Historical and Heritage Society
Hot Spring County
Dr. Wendy Richter, Professor and Archivist, Ouachita Baptist University
John D. Phillips, Hot Spring County Historical Society
Melissa Phillips, Hot Spring County Historical Society
Clark County
Bob Thompson, President, Clark County Historical Association
Johnnie Thompson, Clark County Historical Association
Charles Todd, Museum Director, Clark County Historical Association
Laverne Todd, Clark County Historical Association
Nevada County
Pete DeWoody, Board Member, Nevada County Depot Museum
Judy Duke, Curator, Nevada County Depot Museum
Peggy S. Lloyd, Board Member, Nevada County Depot Museum
Paul Ridgell, President of the Board, Nevada County Depot Museum
Nevada/Ouachita Counties
John M. Stewart, Park Superintendent, White Oak Lake State Park
John Giles, Asst. Park Superintendent, White Oak Lake State Park
White Oak Lake State Park is in Nevada County. The staff of this park cares for Poison Spring State Park, an unmanned Civil War park in Ouachita County.
Hempstead County
Billy Nations, Chief Interpreter, Historic Washington State Park
Ouachita County
Drs. George and Diane Betts, Graham-Gaughan-Betts Home
Kathy Boyette, Ouachita County Historical Society
Dallas County
Bill Farmer, Re-enactor
Cleveland County
Patricia and Roger McClellan, Cleveland County Historical Society
Grant County
Gerald and Alberta Harper, Friends of Jenkins' Ferry
Deelois Lawrence, Friends of Jenkins' Ferry
Brenda Stuckey, Friends of Jenkins' Ferry